Armadale

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$220 per week (excludes bills)
Couple$270 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
7 February 2020 for 2 months plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
With a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Desk available
Security bond
Discuss
Other information
Wooden floor boards, beautiful stain glass windows, airy.

Home Description

Description of the home

Most important this is a place to call home, to provide a sanctuary and a sense of belonging with reasonable level of care and connection. The aim is to be Drama-FREE and to live by values of mutual respect for what it takes to make a house a home.

This is a beautiful Art Deco (California bungalow style) free-standing double brick home, original features. Will suit someone who has a young heart yet likes old school style of living.

Large living areas, lounge room, study/reading room. Fabulous outdoor/indoor area with couch for reading, resto, relaxo. Huge backyard garden with chirping singing bird. Backyard has a large sky space for contemplating something bigger and better than ourselves - the universe.

Air-conditioning in main living area for summer, open fireplace for winter and a cozy night in. Stereo in living area to enjoy great music, usually the home vibe will be playing community radio (PBS, RRR) or ABC Classic. An inspiring place to live, a home vibe with charm, a living art piece that you can contribute to if you so desire.

This is a big home, with a big heart, It has two bedrooms and a sunroom. The medium room is available for humans whose living values aligns with the home vibe. Could discuss for couples to have the main bedroom?

Super close to transport options, 3x trams for going to the city/Chapel (order of closeness tram #5,64,6) - takes 10min to get to Chapel St, another tram for going into the heart of St Kilda (#16). Train station options 'Armadale' (8min walk), 'Malvern' (12min walk). Bus 605 to Flagstaff.

Local shops, Malvern Central and Organically grown - 8-10min walk

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

Rent includes wifi, does not include gas for hot water, electricity and water. Bills are shared equally based on total consumption charged by the relevant utility providers. If a shorter stay we can discuss a rent amount that includes these bills.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Female, straight
Age group
36 to 40 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Business
  • Community work
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Spirituality
  • Writing
About the occupants
My names is Soph (mind of a teenager, heart of an elder), I grew up on the Far North Coast of NSW and basically a have a hippy type of heart. I'm also first born Aussie with a mixture of European influences, Georgian, French and Ukrainian, this can translate to me being upfront and honest. As a side kick I operate a social enterprise start-up with a goal to stabilise artist income while saving humanities soul, big ambitions! For my earning income job, I found some resilience to redirect my career out of banking project management to now work for a education government agency.

During the week Mon-Fri I'm out the door 7:15am, lifestyle varies most weekdays I'm out (comedy, theatre, talks, music gigs, movies etc, happy to give you the lowdown on whats happening in case your interested to join). On weekend I'm usually stay in to recoup. Generally enjoy cooking time on the weekend, some kind of vegie meal. I always make plenty enough to share, it's likely you'd have two home cooked meals on the weekend (if you like my cooking, I'm told is 'wholesome'). Not a big drinker - more incline on the weekend with sharing the odd espresso martini/cosmo.

Personally my eating style is to avoid processed food which also is a bonus with minimal packaging. I live mostly on organic fruit and veg, to some extent I am mostly vegetarian, but not fully - I sometimes crave a gourmet meat pie or Sunday bangers and mash.
Compatible people
I've been sharing for 10years. I am looking for a homie who has genuine interest in having some form of connection to fellow homies. Some great friendships have been formed by living this way. The best home vibes are those based on general social intelligence, including having time to converse. Equally importantly, is living with a human who can contribute to living at a common standard. Example of some common standards cleaning up after yourself (leave it as you find it clean) and automatically taking on cleaning tasks for upkeep of the home.

Would love to open the home vibes to humans who are non-judgemental. Mostly want to share a home in a way that friendship may be nurtured over time, sharing just enough of each other lives and encounter some shared experiences that allow us to live harmoniously and with genuine care. I'm not interested in living with people who only want to occupy the home by living in their room, eating where they sleep and watching netflix's. Having said that I respect time out. However when I live with people who are non-social it tends in impact me directly where I just start living in my room and the whole house is not lived in. It is imperative that you have an interest in connecting with the humans you share home space with.

I live as eco-friendly and sustainable as possible, I only want to share the home with like minded humans who are conscious consumers for the sake of the planet and their health. Pain points for me include over packaged goods, plastic packaging, chemical toxic cleaning stuff and CAGED eggs (preference is for Organic eggs where chickens live like chickens). If you don’t care or have an interest in caring about what you consume in terms of your sustainability footprint then this is not the place for you.

Basically, like to live a chilled life full of harmony, no bad vibes, peaceful in the evening, some good tunes on the weekend. I love listening to community radio PBS or RRR, when there is screen time TV, my preference is to watch doco’s or something that is going to help me understand the world or myself better.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
18 yrs+
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
Without a cat or dog