Home type
Home size
3 bedrooms
Covered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$235 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
31 October 2020 for 3 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
  • Shared bathroom
  • Wardrobe or rack
  • Air-conditioner
Security bond
1 month

Home Description

Description of the home

Lovely modern townhouse in the heart of Abbotsford. Only moments to restaurants, bars and cafes. Our favourite cafe, Three Bags Full, is located downstairs in the same building, where we usually do flat-brunch on the weekends. It is also located just around the corner from the Yarra river, with excellent running and walking trails.

The culture in the building is quiet and respectful, with a few neighbouring cats and dogs coming to say hello

You will be living with Tim, a legal academic working with international human rights law and environment justice issues, and James, a Planning & Retail Strategy Manager at BMW. We are both in our early 30's, respectful and tidy, into skiing/snowboarding and good friends.

We are looking for a respectful and kind housemate who is happy to do their own thing as well as socialise. We want the house to feel like a proper home :) Ideally, we would like someone that works mostly from home.

The house is fully equipped with all the regular kitchen ware, fridge, washing machine, Tv etc. We would also happily accommodate for more furnitures, plants and so forth.

The apartment could accommodate a small friendly dog or cat (i.e. we would love being pet-uncles). We could confirm with the landlord if needed.

Public transport is great, with walking distance to North Richmond and Collingwood train stations. There is also a tram line into the City on Victoria Street.

The available room upstairs is 3x4.6m. The room can comfortably fit a queen bed with a bed side table, desk of drawers and enough room for a desk for a home office! The room gets plenty of natural light and is in a quiet area. There is aircon and a heater in the room to keep you comfortable during all of Melbourne’s seasons. You will be sharing a shower and bathroom with Tim. There is a large communal living and kitchen area downstairs, with terraces on both sides. There is some room for storage under the stairs and a storage cage by the carpark, where we current store anything from surfboards to skis.

The rent $1,015/month and the security bond is $1,490.

Car Parking – The apartment has two tandem secured undercover car spaces that are occupied. However, neighbouring households in the same building are willing to lease their spots to a good price. So we should be able to solve that as well.

Due to Covid-19 we will be taking video/phone calls initially, and then physical inspections after.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Storage room
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Elevator / Lift

Bills and expenses

All bills are split equally (we currently use splitwise):
Internet $20 per month each
Electricity, Gas & Water ~$120 per quarter each

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
31 to 35 years
Smoking at home
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Cars or motorbikes
  • Cooking and food
  • Current affairs
  • Music
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Sports
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
You will be living with Tim and James, both in our early 30s and both working from home for the foreseeable future due to… you know.

Tim is a legal academic, teaching and working with international human rights law and environmental justice issues. He is also completing his PhD in international law. He is originally from Sweden, but lived in London and the US for ten years before moving to Melbourne a year and a half ago. Relaxed yet tidy, and loves being in the mountains and the ocean for skiing, windsurfing, surfing and climbing. Reads a fair bit, hates going to the supermarket. Vegetarian. James is also fairly certain that Tim is the Swedish Chef from the Muppets.

James is a Manager at BMW, and has a background in engineering. He is originally from Sydney, but has been in Melbourne for a good 7 years—so basically a Melbournian by now. He is very kind and easy going, but also tidy. He is a great snowboarder (clearly the wrong snow sport but ok), and an even better surfer. He is also trying to convince Tim to give up windsurfing and get into kite surfing, with moderate to no success. He is an incredible driver, and has worked as a race car engineer. He also owns a killer hammock that will make you jealous.

We keep a pretty standard schedule, and usually do not stay up too late on week nights. We both have plenty of hobbies and busy social lives that keep us individually entertained, but also enjoy spending time together over a beer at home, meal out or trip to the snow (all the lovely things we could do before covid…)
Compatible people
We are looking for someone kind, easy going and respectful that feels easy and positive to be around—and that is tidy and clean. Ideally, you would be working mostly from home too. If you’re interested, send us a message with a bit about yourself, and what you are re looking for in a household. If you got a kitchen table, that is certainly a plus. Happy to meet over Zoom first and give a virtual tour of the house before setting up a viewing.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 to 35 yrs
Smoking at home
Pets okay