Melbourne - Inner

Home type
Home size
2 bedrooms
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Singles$360 per week (includes bills)
Couples$360 per week (includes bills)
Date available
2 December 2023 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
  • Shared bathroom
  • Air-conditioner
  • Desk available
Security bond
1 month
Other information
A large room measuring 4.5 m X 4.7 m. Able to fit a King Size bed, side table or desk and wardrobe. A unique space which is partially furnished with antique furnishings, artisan curtains and black out blinds, a vintage working desk and photography paper screens which can be rolled up out of the way if not in use. This is an ideal work/ live location for a creative professional. The room features an ornamental period fireplace and large, street facing windows which let in ample natural light. The large front bedroom is separated from the back room and study by a long corridor and landing, which is great for privacy.

Home Description

Description of the home

A unique living space right in the heart of artistic Fitzroy. Fantastic location, nestled on the corner of Smith and Johnston Street, above a high end fashion design studio and boutique. The dwelling has it’s own private and secure access via the back, through a lush shared courtyard. This tranquil apartment amid the hustle and bustle, is ideal for a creative working professional. It is also well equipped to be used as a semi-commercial, live and work space. I run the fashion boutique downstairs and there is one large street-facing bedroom sharing the house with one housemate who is living in the small, courtyard-facing bedroom.

Originally restored to be used as a photography studio and creative workspace, this character-filled period apartment has been fully refurbished to a high standard and comes partially furnished with vintage and antique furniture. The artful restoration also includes hand crafted feature walls in each room. The fully equipped kitchen comes with a luxury fridge, microwave, gas oven/ stove top and art-deco dining table. Beautiful, light and airy spaces featuring period details – large windows, ornamental fireplaces, skylight in the corridor, polished dark hardwood floors. The dwelling also features a luscious courtyard (shared with the shop), which will be great for outdoor entertaining.

A fabulous and very convenient location, with trams and buses right at your doorstep, 15 min walk to Victoria Park station, 8 mins walk to Fitzroy Pools, and local gyms are all nearby. Aldi right across the street, 5 mins walk to Coles or Woolworths on Smith Street, Short walking distance to all Smith Street and Brunswick Street eateries, shopping and nightlife.

There’s no garage available, but the property is valid for parking permits with the Yarra city council for street parking if you have a car. There is always ample permit parking on Gore Street which is very close by.

This property is also ideal for a creative working professionals who would like to setup a home office and living space in a convenient location.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Broadband Internet
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Neighbourhood views

Bills and expenses

Rent amount is inclusive of water, gas and internet. Electricity is excluded and separate.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
41+ years
Smoking at home
Outdoor smoker
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Fashion
  • Music
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
Cyril is a Psychology masters student who is quiet and respectful, but also a caring and sociable guy who enjoys cooking and sharing a wine and chat. Originally from Paris but now calls Melbourne home. Super open and gay friendly guy who enjoys conversations about philosophy, art and culture.
Compatible people
Looking for a kind, considerate and respectful housemate to share this beautiful space with. We keep a clean and tidy household, while also being fun and easy going.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Males (str)
  • Males (gay/bi)
Age group
31 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
  • Without a cat or dog
  • Cats okay