Annerley

Brisbane - South

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Singles$260 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
24 April 2024 for 3 months to 6 months
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
With or without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Wardrobe or rack
  • Desk available
Security bond
2 weeks
Other information
I'm happy to provide any features or fixtures that are normally provided to help make you comfortable.

Home Description

Description of the home

Mostly restored Classic 3 bed Colonial Queenslander home with beautiful old school architecture, but also includes typical issues with old constructions, like cold in winter & windows a bit difficult to work. You either love em, or you don't.

Plenty of breakout areas to read a book, work on your lap top or have nibbles & a drink or even smoke, if you do. Out in the private back yard, relax on the covered deck in the Northern morning sun overlooking the garden & lawn. Or grab a (your) drinks from the bar fridge & entertain friends / house mate, on the undercover entertainer deck, complete with wood fired pizza oven, all completely separate from the main house. The landscaping is low maintenance & the the entire back yard is private, so clothing is optional (in summer) or top up your tan with a naked sun bake on the lawn.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Study or office
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • BBQ facilities
  • Gym or fitness area

Bills and expenses

To keep it simple, I'll assign a fixed portion depending on your needs. Costs can be reduced, the more that you do. Electricity for personal bedroom A/c will be charged separately, if it is significant in size. The gas dryer is $2 per load, pay as per use. I'd rather you cater for yourself with food, but happy to share a meal occasionally, especially if your international. I eat everything so if your going to be offended by meat or dairy, then probably this is not the house for you.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, gay/bi
Age group
41+ years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
Have a dog
Main interests
  • Animals and pets
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Business
  • Computers or Internet
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Health and fitness
  • Music
  • Socialising
  • Television
About the occupants
Hello, I'm Neil & I'm a 56 yo single gay man. I have a glass "half full" outlook & prefer to look for the good in things & keep a positive optimistic viewpoint. I'm a lively person & seek people with similar outlooks. Can't handle quiet or negative types & I love the phrase, "Grow a bridge & get over it!" I know life can be a concern, especially atm, but I try to always look up, but I don't need to talk all day/night either.

I like to look after myself & eat a healthy diet, but I also like to have fun and a drink with a house mate or neighbor, that turned into a very late one, is good fun to me. I'm generous, and I like when others return the generosity, I hate being used. I’m into gardening & house improvements that never seems to end.

I'm between jobs and don't work full time so self employed & work from home to my own hours. I'm a people person, love entertaining & cooking. I like Dj mixed streaming music, could be vocal trance or house, or Indi dance or classics. Time & place for everything.

I maintain a clean home, but it’s no display home & sometimes I get slack & it gets a bit untidy, but if some dishes got left till the morning, it’s no problem. I did say it, I have a lot of stuff!

I’m respectful of others, no matter your age, & I like to be respected, I’m open & honest.

I like confidence but not cockiness, so please don’t be pass remarkable at my messy desk, or insist I get Netflix & question, why I persist with a Windows 7 Media Centre.
I like to share, what is life, if we cannot share!

Last important point: You're not really "Sharing a house" you'll be living with me and yes I have a lot of stuff, but if you don't have a lot of stuff & that's fine by you, there's plenty here, we'll get along just fine!

Lastly, I have had 3 French & 1 Colombian housemates from HelpX & I have great reviews from them, 3 stayed for 12+ months.
Lastly, I currently have one housemate who is 31 and I'm looking for a second house mate.
Compatible people
Guys only please. A friendly outgoing person that wants to engage with their house mate, that person is more than just filling a room. A desire to be involved & be included.
Easy going & no particular hang ups. Doesn’t hate the ABC! Lol
Honest & considerate & definitely not into drugs, except cigarettes & alcohol.
I'd prefer them not to lock themselves all the time in the bedroom watching flicks on their PC or staying isolated, that doesn't help create a homely unit. A willingness to raise & discuss issues to help maintain a harmonious environment.
Description of pets
I have a young Jug (Terrier cross Pug) which is very playful and needs a lot of attention, but everyone absolutely loves him, he's so cute! He does live inside at night, and he's well trained and virtually never barks, unless there's an intruder.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Males (gay/bi)
Age group
31 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog