Mylor

Adelaide

Home type
House
Home size
2 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$160 per week (includes bills)
Date available
23 January 2021 for 1 month plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
Security bond
Discuss

Home Description

Description of the home

(Rent includes 2 bedrooms for 1 person)

Hello, my little dog George and I (30 year old male) are in search of a housemate to move into our rented home/animal sanctuary nestled in the beautiful Adelaide Hills.

- The property –
It is amazing, it sits on a spacious 14 acres of mostly eucalyptus woodlands with a waterway consisting of numerous small ponds and lakes with a giant 2-acre lake as the property’s centerpiece. It is secured by an electrified feral-proof fence and acts as a sanctuary for an array of captive and wild native endangered animals ranging from bandicoots, bettongs and platypus to an emu called Regina.

- The house –
Sitting on top of a small hill is an old 4-bedroom stone house that’s had a few extensions over the years. A shared bathroom, laundry and kitchen with a walk-in pantry. Spacious patio with outdoor fireplace and an old barn and shed outback. Fenced in large veggie patch and water supplied by two huge rainwater tanks. While there are limited inside communal areas you are able to have 2 bedrooms (both unfurnished), one for sleeping and one for whatever else you please.

It’s an amazing property for anyone who loves nature and being outdoors. While far from essential it would be great to have someone interested in the environment or someone studying anything conservation related.

Home features

  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Neighbourhood views
  • Water views
  • Electronic security
  • Gym or fitness area

Bills and expenses

Bills:
- Water: Free delicious rainwater year round (house not connected to the mains)
- Gas: The gas is connected by simple swap and go gas cylinders (included in rent).
- Internet: The internet is unlimited (included in rent).
- Electricity: Electricity bill will be split evenly (NOT included in rent).

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
25 to 30 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
Have a dog
Main interests
  • Animals and pets
  • Health and fitness
  • Music
  • Sports
  • Travel
About the occupants
Hello my name is Jason,

I am a 30 year old male who has been living in this house for approximately a year and half now. I work in the conservation field, both at the Warrawong Wildlife Sanctuary next door and also a bush-regeneration organization called Trees For Life. The protection of native flora and fauna is both work and a hobby for me. I spend a lot of my spare time working to restore the biodiversity around the property and neighboring area.

I love getting out and about with my dog going for hikes and exploring the beauty of the many nearby parks, enjoy bike riding, building things like bird boxes, kicking the footy and playing tennis. Inside the house I'm generally listening to music, watching sport, playing games etc.
Compatible people
Because of the nature of the place I need a housemate that is extremely responsible and trustworthy to ensure the safety of the animals that reside here. For example, someone that can be 100% trusted shutting and locking gates, driving attentively while on the property and remembering to feed the animals from time to time if I’m not home. Again due to the nature it would not be ideal for someone ‘extremely social’ who would have large volumes of friends coming and going.
Description of pets
- George is a 10-year-old Puggle (Pug+Beagle) who I got from a shelter a few years ago. He is a gentle little guy who can be vocal at times but mostly just follows me around. If you pay him attention he will be your best friend otherwise he will just leave you alone.
- Regina the emu is more or less a pet. She’s very friendly yet cautious, mostly just hangs around the house. She is extremely inquisitive and will likely follow you around the property from a distance.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 to 40 yrs
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog