Abbotsford

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$941 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
4 November 2020 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
Security bond
1 month

Home Description

Description of the home

We’re so fortunate (especially during iso!) to have decent sized front and back yards, which is kinda rare for inner city. They both get plenty of sun, which is great for sitting with a book and a tea/wine, which we both enjoy.

Our backyard has a veggie patch, a burgeoning lime tree, composter and a shed. The front yard is also a guinea pig agistment, a neighbour sometimes drops Walnut round to enjoy our lush grass.

The bedroom has wooden floorboards and easily fits a queen bed, desk, wardrobe etc. The bathroom has a tub, the toilet is separate, and there’s a laundry with storage shelves. We’ve got a good sized kitchen (with a dishwasher) and the living area has a ceiling fan and a great gas heater.

Some of the furniture pictured (and half the plants) will move out with our current housemate. We’re not attached to much and are happy to change or rearrange things to make you feel more at home.

We don’t have a TV or microwave, but if those are things you have or want to bring that’s cool. We’ve got all the kitchen essentials covered but you’re welcome to add your own.

Car permits are available through Yarra City Council.

ABOUT ABBOTSFORD
Close to everything you could need! There’s cafes in every direction, the neighbours are friendly, and there’s heaps of green spaces close by. There’s great hairdressers/barbers, a bouldering gym, yoga studios, nice pubs, and lots of other random stuff.

At the end of the street is Collingwood Children’s Farm and the Abbotsford Convent, which connects to Yarra Bend Park, Yarra Trail and Merri Creek Trail. There's also Victoria Park, which is a footy field/dog park with picnic tables (and plenty of flat concrete for Tom to practice his kick flips).

The convent is currently closed, but the bakery has a cute caravan setup outside selling fresh bread, coffee and food. The farm is also closed but selling fresh veggies and herbs, and the path around the convent is open so you can still stroll/run/cycle through and say g’day to the goats and horses.

Some stuff nearby:
2 minute walk to Retreat Hotel
4 minute walk to Mavis Cafe
6 minute walk to IGA, Blackhearts & Sparrows, Bodriggy, Rita’s (the best pizza)
8 minute walk to Collingwood Train Station - 4 stops to Flinders
12 minute walk to Woollies, Aldi, Chemist Warehouse, Minh Phat
12 minute walk to Victoria Street - 12 and 109 Trams
13 minute walk to Studley Park Boathouse
20 minute walk to Smith Street

Home features

  • Ceiling fans
  • Living area heating
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

Water, gas, elec and internet all split 3 ways. We all take turns buying things like toilet paper and cleaning products.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
  • Female, straight
  • Male, straight
Age group
31 to 35 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
About the occupants
Both in our early 30s, we’ve been living in this house for 1.5 years. Both working from home for the foreseeable future due to… you know.

Amanda works in fundraising and goes into the office usually one day a week. She also studies politics part-time. Likes - bookclubs, Spanish Netflix dramas, talking to her plants, and learning the dances from early 00s film clips. Dislikes - Rupert Murdoch, when people press the pedestrian crossing button multiple times, and miner birds.

Tom retired as a chemist and now works as a data-scientist. Likes - cooking, jazz between the years of 1958-1967, the Denver Nuggets, hikes, and making useless websites. Dislikes - lining up for things, getting his jumper sleeve wet when he’s brushing his teeth, and Amanda being better at jigsaw puzzles than him.

We keep a pretty standard schedule, usually don’t stay up too late on school nights. We both have plenty of hobbies and busy social lives that keep us individually entertained, but we’ll occasionally enjoy a scotch and a bit of The Office together (NB Amanda prefers the US version and Tom incorrectly prefers the UK version). We handle household tasks communally, take turns with the chores and keep the house and yards pretty clean and tidy.

We also both have state-sanctioned 'bubble bubbies’ that we visit at least once a week.
Compatible people
We’re looking for a chiller with a good sense of humour. Someone clean, tidy and respectful.

If you’re interested, send us a message with a bit about yourself, what you’re looking for in a household, and your best (or worst?) pandemic purchase.

Happy to meet over Zoom first if that’s easier, give you a virtual tour of the house.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 to 40 yrs
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
Without a cat or dog