Currumbin Valley

Gold Coast and SE Queensland

Home type
Home size
2 bedrooms
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$225 per week (includes bills)
Date available
12 June 2021 for 2 months plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
With or without a bed
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Good view or outlook
Security bond
1 month
Other information
Medium sized bedroom, with built-in wardrobe and both internal and external doors. Furniture is optional.

Home Description

Description of the home

Hi everyone, I'm seeking a new housemate here at Ananda Rainforest Retreat, above the Currumbin Valley. Someone heart-centred and spiritually aware, who values conscious communication and mutual empowerment and wants to contribute their own unique gifts to growing conscious community in this beautiful, peaceful environment.

You will be sharing the downstairs home with me, which consists of our two bedrooms, a shared living room containing both lounge and kitchen facilities, and a shared bathroom. A third downstairs bedroom is rented out separately as an occasional treatment room for an hourly rate.

The owner-caretaker lives upstairs and makes his very beautiful living space available for small gatherings and workshops (eg. meditation, mindful communication, yoga, kirtan, sound healings etc) as well as a Spa Retreat business (massages, foot-baths, facials, healthy foods, etc). A number of people come to offer workshops, events or treatments here, and we are seeking someone who would like to be a part of this extended community while I also wish to keep our own downstairs living space as a reasonably quiet haven.

We also have a small Tao Temple, a beautiful 'tree-house' cottage (rented out on Air BnB) and many acres of exotic rainforest. We have plans to grow a vegetable garden...

There are also opportunities to work in the spa business (eg. spa massage therapist, cooking, cleaning, marketing) and treehouse (cleaning) in exchange for money or partial rent reduction. The workshop and treatment spaces are also available for a fee to be negotiated with the owner. Thus it would especially suit someone who is a healer, therapist, workshop facilitator etc.

If this resonates with you, I'd love to hear from you!

Home features

  • Ceiling fans
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

Electricity, Gas & Internet

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
41+ years
Smoking at home
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Community work
  • Creative interests
  • Personal development
  • Socialising
  • Spirituality
  • Travel
About the occupants
I'm easy-going, quiet & respectful but also sociable and into connection and community. I have a couple of day jobs and also run workshops using meditation and mindful communication for team building and community development. I'm part of a men's group, an activist group and a conscious business group, and I am especially passionate about co-creating new earth communities and networks.

I should say that living in a retreat centre does require sensitivity and awareness of one's own and others' needs and wishes, and a willingness to harmonise our own private activities with those happening around us - at least to some extent. I find that an ability to negotiate healthy boundaries, to self-regulate our emotions and to communicate mindfully, helps us all to hold space collectively for both the challenges and rewards of living in community. I personally love it here, as I grow and develop spiritually through cultivating conscious community – and I run workshops for this very purpose.
Compatible people
Friendly, respectful, good communication, perhaps some shared interests.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 yrs+
Smoking at home
Without a cat or dog